How does the new Backup and Sync treat existing Google Drive users

google-drivegoogle-photos

Google has upgraded both Google Drive and Google Photos' softwares into a single software called "Backup and Sync". Until now one had to backup/sync everything into a special folder called "Google Drive". From now on one can backup/sync multiple folders without creating a special folder.

My question is – what about users which already use that special folder? What's the best way to stop using the existing Google Drive folder and put its contents in, say, Documents, without having to re-download/upload everything?

enter image description here

Best Answer

Well, looks like unlike what all news site claimed, it does not change the old behavior, but adds something else.

The new feature is a semi sync as the new multiple folders do not use My Drive:

enter image description here

This means they won't sync to your other computers, only to Google Drive's webpage.

In other words, if you have multiple computers, then the only folder to sync between all of them is the good old Google Drive folder.

The only exceptions are files and folders on which you right clicked and chose to add to My Drive. Yes, just like files and folders that other users shared with you.